7-1-14 - By New Smyrna Speedway Staff

Race number four of six for the 2014 Brighthouse Challenge Series takes place
Thursday night at New Smyrna Speedway with the 14th annual edition of the
Clyde Hart Memorial run in honor of the man who built and promoted New Smyrna
Speedway until his passing in 1998.  Now operated by his son Robert Hart, his
wife Jane and son Andrew, the track honors Clyde Hart each year with the
running of this event that attracts top Super Late Model teams from the state
of Florida and beyond.

David Rogers of Orlando won the first Hart Memorial in 1999 but has not found
victory lane since that time.  Wildwood's Wayne Anderson has won this race
four times but will not be able to be in the field this year because the
engine he blew in practice for the April Brighthouse Series event at New
Smyrna has not been completed in time to allow him to be in the field.  Two
time winners of the race are Mike Fritts and Tim Russell while Travis
Kittleson, Sam Watts, Jeff Choquette and Daniel Keene, Jr. have also been in
victory lane at the end of the Hart Memorial.  Keene looks to make it back to
back victories as he took the checkered flag first in last year's race. 
Russell will also be in the field looking for win number three while Rogers
will also be gunning for a second Hart Memorial win.

Steven Wallace of Mooresville, NC, the February 2014 NSS World Series Super
Late Model Champion, has also entered along with Stephen Nasse of Pinellas
Park who won the Brighthouse Challenge race here in April.  Joe Boyd of
Riverview leads the current Brighthouse Series points and also won the
season-opener for the Series, the Icebreaker 100 at DeSoto Speedway.  The
drivers running second through fifth in points, Jesse Dutilly, George Gorham,
Jr., Rich Clouser and Anthony Sergi are all expected to be in the field.  The
most recent Brighthouse winner was T. J. Duke at DeSoto in May but it's not
known if he'll make the trip to New Smyrna this time.  

Other drivers expected are defending Brighthouse champion Travis Cope, "No
Brake" Jake Perkins, Chris Fontaine, David Green, Daniel Webster, Bobby Good,
Michael Lira, Ray Black, Jr. Michael Atwell and ageless veteran Mario

Also on tap is a 50-lap Open Modified race along with a 25-lapper for the Mini
Stocks and Strictly Stocks for 20 laps.  The Open Modifieds have raced just
once so far this year at New Smyrna with defending track champion Jerry "The
Hammer" Symons taking the victory over arch-rival Tank Tucker.  Pat Wells is
coming off his second Mini Stock win of the year this past Saturday but can
expect plenty of competition including "Mr. Mini Stock" Ted Vulpius who has
his car repaired from a wreck two weeks ago.

New Smyrna Speedway will hold an open practice session on Wednesday night,
July 2, from 6-10 pm.  Gates for the test session open at 5 pm and admission
is $15 although you will be able to purchase a two-day pit pass on Wednesday
for $40.

Thursday, July 3, pit gates will open at 2 pm with admission at $25 for
members and $30 for non-members.  Practice is slated from 4-5:30 pm. 
Grandstand gates open at 5:45 pm followed by qualifying for the Clyde Hart
Memorial Brighthouse Challenge Super Late Models and Open Modifieds at 6 pm. 
Opening ceremonies will take place at 7:10 pm followed by racing action at
7:30 pm.

The Clyde Hart Memorial will run first for 100 laps with a big fireworks show
to follow after the victory lane ceremonies.  Following the fireworks will be
the 25-lap feature for the Mini Stocks, the Open Modified 50 and the 20-lap
Strictly Stock event.

Adult admission to the grandstands is $20 with all seniors (65+) admitted for
$18.  Kids aged 11 and under are free of charge.